Shell Houston Open field continues to grow


HOUSTON – The field for the Shell Houston Open will, as usual, include some of the top talent in the world and the commitment list just got a whole lot more impressive.

On Wednesday, tournament director Steve Timms announced eight major championship winners have committed to the 2017 Shell Houston Open, scheduled for March 30 to April 2 at the Golf Club of Houston.

Joining previously committed world No. 7 and 2013 Masters champion Adam Scott are Jimmy Walker, Keegan Bradley, Stewart Cink and Lucas Glover.

Top-ranked international players Ernie Els, Retief Goosen, Padraig Harrington and Angel Cabrera are joining the growing international player field for the 26th Shell Houston Open.

Jimmy Walker, won the most recent PGA championship and has five additional PGA tour victories. He’s currently No. 22 in the world golf rankings.

Keegan Bradley is returning to the Shell Houston Open and was the 2011 PGA Championship among his three TOUR victories.

Ernie Els, a two-time winner of the U.S. Open (1994 and 1997) and The Open Championship (2002 and 2012), joins fellow South African Retief Goosen, who was the 2001 and 2004 U.S. Open champion in the field. Padraig Harrington, of Ireland, is making his 11th appearance at the Shell Houston Open. Harrington boasts six PGA TOUR and 18 international victories including the 2007 and 2008 The Open Championship and the 2008 PGA Championship.

Argentina native Angel Cabrera, 2009 Masters and 2007 U.S. Open champion, is making his 10th consecutive start at the Shell Houston Open.

Players have until March 24 (Friday before tournament week) to commit. They may also withdraw on or before that date with no penalty.